Table of Contents

About MRCP (UK)

The MRCP Part 1 exam focuses on assessing candidates' foundational knowledge of basic medical science acquired during undergraduate education.
Moksh Logo


MRCP, an abbreviation for Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians of the UK, is a prestigious qualification conferred by the Federation of the Royal Colleges of Physicians, headquartered in the UK but extending its influence globally. This federation represents a collaborative partnership between the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow, and the Royal College of Physicians. Collectively, these colleges represent over 50,000 physicians worldwide, providing a valuable professional network and serving as a platform for the exchange of best practices and continuous educational opportunities among physicians in the UK and beyond.

The MRCP (UK) examination is administered globally and comprises three parts: MRCP UK Part 1, MRCP UK Part 2, and MRCP UK Part 3 or Clinical (PACES) exams. These exams assess the knowledge, skills, and clinical competence of candidates aspiring to become certified physicians in the UK.

The MRCP Part 1 exam focuses on assessing candidates’ foundational knowledge of basic medical science acquired during undergraduate education. It covers various subjects in a multiple-choice format, testing comprehension of common disorders, clinical sciences, and UK national guidelines.

Similarly, MRCP Part 2 evaluates candidates’ practical understanding gained from Part 1, with questions often including images to emphasize the interpretation of investigative outcomes. Throughout the exam, candidates are assessed on their medical abilities, knowledge, and professional conduct in handling specific medical scenarios.

Successful completion of all three parts of the MRCP exam is obligatory before embarking on specialized internal medicine training in the UK. The MRCP (UK) and Specialty Certificate Examinations hold official approval from the General Medical Council (GMC) as vital elements of the UK’s postgraduate medical training regimen, closely aligned with the country’s curriculum and standards.

Following completion of the MRCP exams, physicians typically undergo foundation years (FY1 and FY2) training, acquiring general clinical and non-clinical proficiencies outlined in the UK curriculum. This serves as a transitional phase between medical school and specialized training.

Internal Medicine Training (IMT) represents the initial phase of specialty training for physicians, equipping trainees with the skills to manage patients with acute and chronic medical conditions in various settings. Completion of IMT and attainment of the full MRCP UK Diploma are prerequisites for embarking on specialty training at ST4 level. Specialty Training (ST3 – 6) focuses on particular specialties within the National Health Service (NHS), and physicians must pass Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs) relevant to their chosen specialty to be admitted to the GMC Specialist Register. Passing the SCE demonstrates proficiency and ensures physicians possess adequate knowledge to practice safely and effectively as consultants.

Blog Tags
Blog Category

Leave a Reply