Jyoti means light and linga means mark when we include jyotirlinga we will get a Radiant sign of Lord Shiva. There are 12 jyotirlingas in India. In every Jyotirlinga temple, a lingam is situated which is dedicated to Lord Shiva. It is believed that after attaining a level of enlightenment you will see these lingas as the column of light piercing through Earth. There are 64 Jyotirlinga but 12 are considered as most significant and holy and in this article we will discuss the 5 important jyotirlingas. Every Jyotirlinga represents the manifestation of Lord Shiva. Let’s delve into depth and learn more about these sacred jyotirlingas.

1. Kedarnath Temple

Kedarnath is one of the most significant and highly worshipped jyotirlinga. Kedarnath is situated in the Garhwal sector in the Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand state of India. The temples of Kedarnath show the classic North Indian style. The temple is constructed with large, roughly carved stone slabs and timbers keeping the style of the region alive. First of all the temple was constructed by the Hindu epic Mahabharata heroes Pandavas to get atonement for their sins of fratricide (Gotra Hatya). 

Many people embark on the journey of Kedarnath yatra because it is believed that going on this sacred journey cleanses all your sins and gives you salvation. For doing the Kedarnath yatra, the Kedarnath tour package is a great option. In the Kedarnath Yatra package, you can get a guide who will help you in your whole journey. Generally, the Kedarnath yatra cost starts from ten thousand which is worth it after arriving in the atmosphere of Kedarnath due to its serene and spiritual atmosphere which will help you in soothing your mind and body. The experience of Kedarnath yatra will be unforgettable. 

2. Somnath Temple

Somnath temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Shiva located in the Prabhas Patan sector of Veraval in Gujarat, India. The temple architecture is a mix of Chalukya and Solanki styles. The temple’s part is well distributed in a large area and involves various structures like the main sanctum, Kirti mandap, Sabha mandap, and Nritiya mandap. 

According to the Shiv Purana moon is married to 27 daughters of Prajapati Daksha but he gives love to only one of his daughters that is Rohini. This results in anger arising in the mind of Daksha and he curses the moon. To regain his lost lusture and beauty moon did penance. Lord Shiva granted his wish and resided here till eternity. 

3. Nageshwar Temple

Nageshwar temple is one of the most important jyotirlinga dedicated to Lord Shiva. Nageshwar Jyotirlinga is located in the Aundha Nagnath, Hingoli, Maharashtra. Nageshwar jyotirlinga is constructed in Hemadpanthi style. The construction of the temple follows the traditional principle of Vastu Shastra. 

The story of Nageshwar temple is as follows, Once upon a time Shiva devotee named Supriya was kidnapped by a demon named Daruk. Daruk kidnapped so many other people also. Supriya started enchanting Shiva’s name and others also followed him. After being impressed by Supriya Lord Shiva appeared there and killed the demon Daruka. After killing the demon Lord Shiva decided to reside there forever. 

4. Bhimashankar Temple

Bhimashankar temple is one of the jyotirlingas dedicated to Lord Shiva. Bhimashnkar Jyotirlinga is situated in the village named Bhimashankar in the Pune District of Maharashtra. The temple is situated on the mountain and 110 km from Pune. The temple is surrounded by rare plants and animal species. 

The story of the Bhimashankar temple is as follows once upon a time a demon named Tripura did penance to impress Lord Brahma. Brahma was happy with his penance and granted him three wishes. The first wish was that Tripura would be indestructible by the gods, Yakshas, Gandharvas, and Devils. His second wish is that his three “puras” will be unbreakable and lastly, he wishes for teleportation. 

After getting all his wishes fulfilled Tripura embarks on the journey to conquer all three loks. Seeing all these incidents God of Heaven Indra also did penance to impress Lord Shiva. After being impressed by Indra Lord Shiva promised him to kill Tripura. Then Lord Shiva took the incarnation of Bhimashanakar at the request of the gods. On the hills of Sahaydri mountain battle started and after the fierce battle, the sweat from Shiva’s body formed the Bhimrathi river. After that Shiva resides there as the Bhimashankar in the form of Jyotirlinga. 

5. Baidynath temple

Baidynath temple is one of the important jyotilingas in  India dedicated to Lord Shiva. Baidynath Jyotirlinga is situated in the Deoghar in the Santhal Parganas division in the Indian state of Jharkhand. The temple’s vicinity has 21 other temples than Baba Baidynath temple. The main temple is tied with a Parvati temple with huge red sacred threads showing the holy union of Lord Shiva and Maa Parvati. It is believed that the holy Baidnath temple shows the unity of Souls and good luck for marriage in Hindus. 

Once upon a time, Ravana did penance to impress Lord Shiva. Ravana started sacrificing his head. After sacrificing nine of his heads Lord Shiva appeared and asked his wish. Ravana requested him to leave Kailash and make your new abode in Lanka. Shiva accepted his request. Shiva gave him a linga and told him to install it in Lanka but on one condition that linga should not be put anywhere else otherwise, the linga would be attached there and can’t be removed from there. Ravana agreed and took the linga from there to Lanka but in the middle, he felt to urinate. He stopped in Deoghar and gave the linga in the hand of Vishnu who was in the form of cowherd named Baiju. Ravana was taking so long to urinate so Baiju kept the Jyotirlinga there and left the place. When Ravana came back he tried to pick up the lingam but failed.

© 2024 Crivva. All Rights Reserved.